top of page

Lincoln County voters to decide on additional funding for roads/bridges in special election

A Special Election will be held on Tuesday, October 5th, 2021 in Lincoln County, South Dakota.

Voters will be making a decision on a county referred resolution.

The resolution was adopted by the Lincoln County Commissioners earlier this summer, and was referred to the voters by petition. This resolution will not become effective unless approved by a majority vote.

Resolution number 2107-23 title: Property tax increase of $0.30 per $1,000 of taxable valuation would allow additional funds for maintaining, repairing, construction and reconstruction of roads and bridges in Lincoln County. SDCL 10-12-13 permits the County to establish a tax amount which may be levied, and such amount can increase each year with the amount of inflation and new construction. The approved resolution would establish a property tax increase of $0.30 per $1,000 of taxable valuation starting with calendar year 2021 taxes payable 2022 and ending calendar year 2023 taxes payable 2024. This levy would end after 3 calendar years.

The State’s Attorney explanation states, “The resolution would raise property taxes solely for the purpose of road and bridge improvements in Lincoln County. This would raise approximately $2.3 million per year. The tax would be divided by a formula set forth by SDCL 10-12-13. The tax amounts are then distributed to the municipalities and to Lincoln County for the sole purpose of road and bridge projects. The resolution is for a period of 3 years and would end in the third year. If the maximum amount were levied, a home with a valuation of $300,000 is estimated to have an increase of $90 per year or $7.50 per month. Municipalities will receive twenty-five percent (25%) of the collected funds of their taxable valuation.”

The polling place in each precinct of this county can be found on page 7 of this week’s newspaper.

In the local area, Grant Township will cast their votes at West Prairie Lutheran Church, 46788 282nd St., Lennox; Lincoln Township and Delaware Township will vote at South Lincoln Rural Water, 28647 472nd Ave., Worthing; Lennox Wards #1, #2, & #3 will vote at First English Lutheran Church, 120 E. 2nd Ave., Lennox; Perry Township will vote at First English Lutheran Church, 120 E. 2nd Ave., Lennox; Tea voters will cast their votes at Tea City Hall, 600 E. 1st St., Tea; Worthing and Lynn Township will vote at the Worthing Fire Station, 403 Louise Ave, Worthing.

Any voter who needs assistance, pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, may contact the county auditor at 605-764-2581 before the election for information on polling place accessibility for people with disabilities. If the polls cannot be opened because of bad weather, the election may be postponed one week. The election polls will be open from seven a.m. to seven p.m. central daylight savings time on the day of the election.


bottom of page