top of page

Lincoln County 4-H hosts recognition event

The Vargas family was named Family of the Year – Salomon, Katelyn, Isabelle and Lynnette.

LENNOX, S.D. – Lincoln County 4-H hosted Recognition Event Oct. 29 in Lennox.

Helping Hands 4-H Club served as hosts for the event.

The Salomon and Lynnette Vargas family was named the 4-H Family of the Year. The Vargases live in Lennox with their children, Katelyn and Isabelle. Lynnette has served as the leaders association president for the past year and has been active as the leaders’ treasurer before that. She has also volunteered her time on static exhibit judging day and setting up projects. Katelyn and Isabelle are involved in fashion revue, sheep, public presentations and many static project areas.

Joyce Stratmeyer of Lennox was awarded the Meritorious Service Award. Stratmeyer has been giving of her time and talents for many years by serving as a 4-H judge for special foods and foods and nutrition during achievement days.

Kasey Trocke was named the Friend of 4-H. In her first year as the Lennox Sundstrom FFA adviser, she has also begun volunteering with 4-H. She and her husband, Brandon, have volunteered to help at achievement days and fundraisers.

Vivian Eitreim, DeeAnn Henjum and Trent Thompson were recognized with alumni awards. All of them have served on various committees and volunteered their time to the 4-H program.

Cassandra Benson received her first-year leader pin. Broc Hartman, Jeremy Hartman and Lynnette Vargas received their five-year leader pins. Mike Bosma received his 10-year leader pin. Lisa Bogue received her 20-year leader pin.

Kaylee Bosma and Maggie McKeown received the CHS Inc. scholarship.

Elizabeth Fossum and Jerit Sieperda received the top beginner records awards. Anna Sieperda and Bode Sweeter received the top junior records awards. Katelyn Vargas and Tygan Fischer received the top senior records awards.

Allie Westra received the top ag award.

Ayva Winterboer received the Visual Arts Dabbler Award for the beginner division, Hannah Broughton received the award for the junior division and Kaylee Bosma received the award for the senior division.

For the high point livestock judging awards, Raegyn Ockenga was the top beginner, Jade Twedt was the top junior and Olivia Newell was the top senior.

High point horticulture and consumer decision making (CDM) skill-a-thon awards were sponsored by CFEL. For horticulture, Lane Boden was the top beginner, Lillie Boden was the top junior and Karin Sweeter was the top senior. For CDM, Evie Adney was the top beginner, Larissa Fossum was the top junior and Karin Sweeter was the top senior. Sweeter placed third and Krueger placed fourth at the State Fair in the CDM contest and will compete at the national contest in San Antonio, Texas, in January.

Members were also recognized for their accomplishments in shooting sports, dog, horse and junior leaders. Twenty members received their first year pin, nine members received their fifth year pin and three members received their 10th year pin. Twenty members received the bronze award, four members received the silver award and three members received the gold award. Ten project pins were awarded. 


bottom of page