top of page

LHS runners find success against large field at Twilight meet

On Friday, Sept. 1 the Lennox High School cross country team traveled to Yankton Trail in Sioux Falls to compete in the Augusta Twilight meet.

The meet featured several strong athletes from over 30 schools.

For the girls’ varsity 5K run, Kelsey Schmidt led the way for Lennox with a time of 20:22.33 earning her 45th place among the over 300 girls competing.

Adie McVey took 164th with a time of 22:09.22; Josephine Plucker finished 206th with a time of 22:43.76; Karlie Bosma 219th with a time of 22:48.96 and Holly Gillick 283rd with a time of 23:58.56.

For the varsity boys, Cloy McVey led the way for Lennox in the 5K race with a 17:40.67, earning him 108th place among the over 400 runners. Chett Jibben finished with a time of 17:51.31 (131st place); Noah Sayler took 135th with a time of 17:53.03; Cade Sherard 173rd with a time of 18:14.84; Maverick Horst 221st (18:40.01); Elijah Johnson 324th (19:52.52); Noah Wood 329th (19:54.98); Lucas Hartman 349th (20:19.99); Connor Sherard 383rd (21:13.81); and Landon Atkins 399th (22:01.54).

Junior Varsity races were also held.

Leading Lennox in the girls’ JV race was Allison Loewe who took 13th among the over 350 runners with a time of 12:32.76. Kamille Schmidt finished in 25th (12:49.17); Natalie Aesoph 38th (12:57.62 ): Graycee Postma 128th (14:14.10); Ellianna Thill 136th (14:17.55); Kaydence Gerry 159th (14:25.50); Lucy Carlson 176th (14:35.57); Kassidy Williamson 184th (14:40.78); Maddyn Hossle 223rd (15:01.19); Ava Elk Boy 258th (15:34.86); and Jaelyn Fergen 312th (16:36.20).

For the JV boys, Landon Strasser led the way for Lennox with a 72nd place finish among the over 400 runners with a time of 11:06.96. Andrew Stensaas took 108th (11:25.51); Noah Werner 148th (11:43.25 ); Izaak Booker 223rd (12:13.18); Charley Bittner 237th (12:17.40); Jackson Smidt 255th (12:30.15); Leo Aesoph 282nd (12:41.87); Jack Aasheim 287th (12:42.61); Caleb Ellwein 288th (12:42.75); Cade Aasheim 329th (13:07.04); Duncan Johnson 335th (13:11.25); Isaiah Sayler 337th (13:11.57); Riley Nelson 346th (13:17.12); Jan Montero 387th (14:00.48); Lance Aasheim 393rd (14:09.64); Karson Iken 412th (15:15.93); and Keegan Vander Plaats 425th (16:21.74).

The Orioles will compete in the Charger Invitational at Yankton Trail on Tuesday, Sept. 12.

They will host the Lenox Invite on Thursday, Sept. 28.


bottom of page