top of page

FFA holds annual banquet: Hammerstrom earns Andrew Sundstrom Leadership award; Loewe named Outstanding FFA member

The Lennox Sundstrom FFA Chapter held their annual banquet April 14 at the 4-H Building in Lennox.

FFA members were recognized for their accomplishments throughout the year.

Senior Callie Hammerstrom was presented the 2023-24 Member of the Year. This award is voted on by the members. She also received the Andrew Sundstrom Leadership Award. This award commemorates Andrew Sundstrom and what he did for the chapter. The award is sponsored by the Sundstrom family and goes to the member who represented the most leadership in the chapter for the year.

Senior Kathryn Loewe was named the Outstanding FFA Member. This award is to recognize the most active FFA member of the year and is sponsored by Eastern Farmers Coop. She was also the Outstanding Fall LDE participant sponsored by B2/U Stock Farm.

Senior Kailey Deknikker received the James Wilson: Future of Agriculture Award. This award is chosen by the adviser to be given to a senior that represents the future of agriculture and is sponsored by Abbas Landscaping.

Freshman Emmitt Odland received the Star Greenhand for his work in FFA and his SAE experiences. The award is sponsored by Hostetler Repairs.

Junior Skyler Plucker received the Star in Placement in recognition of a member who works for another establishment in agriculture. This award is sponsored by LoneStar Enterprises. Plucker was also named the Star in Agribusiness. This award recognizes a member who shows ownership in their SAE or FFA activities. Plucker was also the Outstanding Spring CDE participant sponsored by Sunshine Foods.

Sophomore Jovie Wirt received the Star Chapter Farmer in recognition of entrepreneurship or placement in production agriculture. This award is sponsored by Haan Farms.

Senior Effie Wildeboer received the Sparkplug Award, which is given to a first-year member of any grade level. This award is sponsored by Total Tree Service.

Junior Tyler Strasser received the Top in Shop award in recognition for his hard work in the shop. This award is sponsored by Sioux Steel.

Sophomore Amelia Meier was named the Outstanding Sophomore. This award is to recognize a sophomore member who has pushed themselves academically and in their FFA journey. It is sponsored by Wiebesiek Trucking.

Members were awarded with scholarship pins for those with a 3.5 commutative GPA or higher. 

These awards are sponsored by Ken and Laurie Shaffer. Those included: freshmen - Andrew Stensaas, Alex Schuelke, Emmitt Odland, Wyatt Holland, Peyten Wright and Grace Merrigan; sophomores - Amelya Meier, Isabelle Vargas, Gabe Veurink, Macy Wallenstein, Adah Perry, Kaylee Storevik and Emersen Lee; juniors - Emma Kilene, Brooke Nelson, Trippten Poppens, Aiden Kollis, Cade Maxfield, Carson Maxfield and Cullen Wright; and seniors - Kailey Deknikker, Grant Graber, Kathryn Loewe, Cassidy Steever and Karin Sweeter. The outstanding scholars in each grade level were Peyten Wright, Emersen Lee, Emma Kilene and Karin Sweeter. Outstanding scholar awards were sponsored by Nelson Feed, American Bank & Trust, Security State Bank and Temple Insurance.

The outstanding fundraisers for each grade level were seventh grade: Micha Townsend; eighth grade: Tate Hoverson; freshman: Alex Schuelke; sophomore: Amelia Meier; junior: Skyler Plucker; and senior: Callie Hammerstrom. The overall fundraiser was Meier.

The outstanding fall LDE participants for each grade level were eighth grade: Braylon Plucker; junior: Skyler Plucker; and senior: Karin Sweeter.

The outstanding spring CDE participants for each grade level were seventh grade: Bode Sweeter; eighth grade: Braylon Plucker; freshman: TJ Elledge; sophomore: Jovie Wirt; junior: Brooke Nelson; and senior: Karin Sweeter.

The Lennox Sundstrom FFA Support Group awarded scholarships to Callie Hammerstrom, Kathryn Loewe, Karin Sweeter, Katelyn Vargas and Cassidy Steever.

The 2024-25 chapter officers were elected: president: Tyler Strasser; vice president: Skyler Plucker; secretary: Jovie Wirt; treasurer: Micah Perry; reporter: Amelya Meier; sentinel: Kenna Schilling; parliamentarian: Emersen Lee; and historian: Emmitt Odland.


bottom of page