top of page

FFA holds annual banquet

The Lennox Sundstrom FFA Chapter held their annual banquet May 7 at the 4-H Building in Lennox. FFA members were recognized for their accomplishments throughout the year.

Senior Olivia Newell was presented the 2022-23 Member of the Year. This new award is voted on by the members. She also received the Outstanding FFA Member. Newell also received the James Wilson: Future of Agriculture Award. This award is chosen by the adviser to be given to a senior who represents the future of agriculture.

Senior Nate Collette received the Andrew Sundstrom Leadership Award. This award commemorates Andrew Sundstrom and what he did for the chapter. The award is sponsored by the Sundstrom family and goes to the member who represented the most leadership in the chapter for the year.

Freshman Jovie Wirt received the Star Greenhand for her work in FFA and her SAE experience. The award is sponsored by Hostetler Repairs. Wirt also received the Sparkplug Award, which is given to a first-year member of any grade level.

Sophomore Skyler Plucker received the Star Chapter Farmer in recognition of entrepreneurship or placement in production agriculture.

Sophomore Brooke Nelson received the Star in Placement. This award recognizes a member who works for another establishment in agriculture.

Junior Callie Hammerstrom received the Star in Agribusiness. This award recognizes a member who shows ownership in their SAE or FFA activities.

Senior James Bondesen received the Top in Shop award in recognition for his hard work in the shop.

Members were awarded with scholarship pins for those with a 3.5 commutative GPA or higher. Those included: freshmen - Hannah Adney, Griffen Boomgarden, Maggie Jacobson, Amelya Meier, Isabelle Vargas, Gabe Veurink, Macy Wallenstein and Emily Wynja; sophomores - Emma Kilene, Brooke Nelson, Trippten Poppens, Keira Tammen and Cullen Wright; juniors - Kailey Deknikker, Grant Graber, Dani Highum, Kathryn Loewe, Cassidy Steever and Karin Sweeter; and seniors - Nate Collette and Landon Slack. The outstanding scholars in each grade level were Adney, Kilene, Highum and Slack.

The outstanding fundraisers for each grade level were seventh grade: Ryan Luden; eighth grade: Braelyn Baloun; freshman: Amelya Meier; sophomore: Skyler Plucker; junior: Paxton Dubbelde; senior: Shyla Schipper.

The overall fundraiser was Dubbelde.

The outstanding fall LDE participants for each grade level were seventh grade: Braylon Plucker; eighth grade: Braelyn Baloun; freshman: Micah Perry; sophomore: Tyler Strasser; junior: Kathryn Loewe; senior: Nate Collette. The overall LDE participant was Loewe.

The outstanding spring CDE participants for each grade level were freshman: Jovie Wirt; sophomore: Brooke Nelson; junior: Karin Sweeter; senior: Olivia Newell. The overall CDE participant was Nelson.

The 2023-24 chapter officers were elected: president: Kathryn Loewe; vice president: Karin Sweeter; secretary: Jensen Hoefert; treasurer: Skyler Plucker; reporter: Katelyn Vargas; sentinel: Micah Perry; parliamentarian: Tyler Strasser; and historian: Ava Nelson.


bottom of page