top of page

FFA finds success at Leadership Development Events

Once again weather played a role in the state leadership development events, held each year in Pierre. The storm that hit South Dakota the first weekend of December delayed the event so that it was all held on Monday, December 3. Twenty FFA members traveled to Pierre Sunday afternoon to compete on Monday.

The Marketing Plan Team led the way by winning the state title and qualifying to compete in the national competition. Team members are Kayleigh Thill, Gemma Sanchez and Alexis Medenwald. The team designed a marketing plan for SE SD Rough Sawn Lumber, a local business. Along with the written plan, they had to perform a 15-minute presentation. They will compete at the national FFA convention, held in Indianapolis, next October.

Placing a respectable second was the Freshmen Conduct of Chapter Meetings Team. Team members included Kaylee Bosma-President, Myra Whitehead-Vice President, Jada Severson- Secretary, Lainey Hansen- Treasurer, Trevor Andernacht- Reporter, Amanni Davis- Sentinel, and Emma Hanisch - Student Advisor. Madelynn Luvaas was the alternate.

The Agriculture Communications team of Madeline Loewe, Brook Geiken, Naomi Reiss and Mickenzie Jibben placed sixth. Their plan and 15-minute presentation was to promote the agriscience learning lab.

The Senior Parliamentary Procedure Team did not advance out of the first round. This event has undergone rule changes two years ago. It now follows the national rules of having a President and five at-large members. Lennox team members were Cooper Benning-President, Madeline Loewe, Ben Zarr, Kaleb Johnson, Kayleigh Thill and Alexis Medenwald. Austin Metivier was the alternate.

LOGIN to read more.

bottom of page