top of page

Election results favor incumbents in local districts

South Dakota made history on Tuesday, Nov. 6, 2018 with the election of the state’s first female Governor, Republican Kristi Noem.

“I grew up with a dad who worked hard every day to build a farm large enough for his kids to come home to, if we wanted,” said Noem. “My dad didn’t make it to see today, but his dreams did. As much as he wanted us to carry on our family farm and ranch, what he really wanted was to give the next generation an opportunity to thrive. That dream serves as the foundation of my vision for South Dakota. I am incredibly grateful to the South Dakotans who have offered me their prayers and support. It’s time to come home, working as governor to build a more prosperous future where all our kids can live in communities that look out for one another and solve problems together.”

Noem And Larry Rhoden won the Governor and Lieutenant Governor’s race by 51%. Democratic candidate Billie Sutton And Michelle Lavallee trailed by 11,478 votes.

The breakdown in the Lennox precinct report had Noem up by just 78 votes, with Noem claiming 485 votes in Lennox and Sutton 407 votes.

Voter turnout in Lennox was at 59.96%, not as high as the statewide voter turnout which was at 62.75%.

Locally in District 6, voters decided to send back the incumbents with Republican Ernie Otten winning the District 6 Senate seat with 65% of the vote.

Top vote getters for District 6 State Representatives were Republicans Herman Otten with 31% of the vote, and Isaac Latterell with 29%.

The breakdown in the Worthing and Lynn precinct report had Noem up by just 42 votes, with Noem claiming 261 votes in Worthing and Lynn and Sutton 219 votes.

In District 16 Republican Jim Bolin claimed the State Senate Seat with 69% of the vote.

Top vote getters for District 16 State Representatives were Republicans Kevin Jensen with 35% of the vote, and David Anderson with 32%.

Voter turnout in Worthing and Lynn precincts was at 59.81%.

Republican Steven Swenson handily won the bid for Lincoln County Sheriff with 72% of the votes going his way.

In other statewide races, Republican Dusty Johnson claimed the United States Representative seat with 60% of the vote. Republican Steve Barnett will be the Secretary of State with 65% of the vote.

Republican Jason Ravnsborg the Attorney General with 55% of the vote. Republican Josh Haeder State Treasurer with 62% of the vote. Commissioner of School and Public Lands is Republican Ryan Brunner with 62% of the vote. Republican Kristie Fiegen garnered 65% of the vote for the Public Utilities Commissioner.

As for ballot questions, receiving a yes vote by 83% was, the Supreme Court Retention of Justice Janine M. Kern.

Constitutional Amendment W: an initiated amendment to the South Dakota constitution changing campaign finance and lobbying laws, creating a government accountability board, and changing certain initiative and referendum provisions, did not pass with 55% of the votes coming in no.

Constitutional Amendment X: an amendment to the South Dakota constitution increasing the number of votes needed to approve a constitutional amendment, also failed with 54% no votes received.

Constitutional Amendment Z: an amendment to the South Dakota constitution establishing that a proposed constitutional amendment may embrace only one subject, and requiring proposed amendments to be presented and voted on separately, did pass with 62% of voters saying yes.

Initiated Measure 24: an initiated measure prohibiting contributions to ballot question committees by non-residents, out-of-state political committees, and entities that are not filed with the secretary of state, also passed with 56% of voters siding with yes.

Finally, Initiated Measure 25: an initiated measure increasing the state tobacco tax and creating a postsecondary technical institute fund for the purposes of lowering student tuition and providing financial support to the state postsecondary technical institutes, failed with 55% of voters casting a no on the ballot.

Looking for more of a breakdown? Visit

bottom of page