Thursday, April 24, 2014

News preview for Apr. 24th issue…

FFA has outstanding State Convention 

The Lennox Sundstrom FFA Chapter traveled to Brookings on April 6 for the 87th State FFA Convention. Along with the highlights listed below, the chapter participated in sessions of the convention to hear motivational speakers and see results from competitions. The main speaker for this year’s convention was Holly Hoffman. Katelynd Whitehead leads state degree winners This year Katelynd Whitehead led the senior FFA state degree winners as a finalist for the Star in Placement Award. At the Monday evening session she was named one of the four finalists and received $75 and a plaque. Along with Whitehead, the following members received their State FFA Degree: Kale Bossman, Jessica Herrboldt, Brianna Johnson, Ellie Klock, Tara Kuper and Jacob Schneiderman. Chapter recognized as one of the best in the state Tuesday morning the chapter was recognized as being one of the top chapters in the state for their overall program. The chapter was named a gold level chapter and will be submitted for national consideration in the National Chapter Award. This award looks at all aspects of the chapter’s program of activities and rewards them for overall excellence. The chapter also placed third in the community development award program. 

To read the entire article, subscribe

Top students recognized at LHS Honors event 

Audra Meyer, Katelyn Hinker, Ellen Renz, Mikala Fjerstad, McKenzie Kjose, Taylor Anderson, Geneva Petrich, Tara Kuper, Joshua Friese, and Halie Mechels were named the 2014 Academic Top Birds at Lennox High School at the annual Honors Recognition Night held on April 14. Honors Recognition Night is held each year to give recognition to the top students in Lennox High School and present scholarships and awards for academic achievement. LHS Academic Letterwinners recognized during the event included the following: Seniors—Taylor Anderson, Shannon Clay, Travis Cownie, Mikala Fjerstad, Joshua Friese, Trey Furgeson, Katelyn Hinker, Jessica Jellema, McKenzie Kjose, Elizabeth Klock, Tara Kuper, Miranda Letze, Matthew Mazourek, Halie Mechels, Audra Meyer, Geneva Petrich, Ellen Renz, Courtney Rippentrop, Brady Rupp, Katelynd Whitehead, Kali Wipf; Juniors—Alyssa Becker, Harlie Breck, Kaylee Cartner, Adam Decker, Oliva Grave, Autumn Haan, Samantha Hagedorn, Karisa Hagena, Brianna Homelvig, Samantha Hyronimus, Emma Lang, Stormie Nice, Nathan Timmerman, Jordan Wittrock; Sophomores (2013-2014)—Keely Anderson, Abigail Beach, Samantha Dlugosh, Hailey Hagedorn, Jacob Hinker, Brady Jandl, Kayla Johnston, Brady Klock, Molly Kroeger, Catlynn Lee, Madison Marquardt, August Meyer, John Steever, Mahli Strasser, Holly Voges, Kayle Waldner, McKenzie Weeldreyer, Taylor Weeldreyer, Traesha West; and Sophomores (2013)—Taylor Dubbelde and Collin McEntee.

To read the entire article, subscribe


Post a Comment

Thank you for your comment.